Kompany and Yaya Toure make PFA Premier League team of the year


Manchester City stars Yaya Toure and Vincent Kompany were named on Sunday in the Professional Footballers Association’s Premier League team of the year.

On a night when the league’s leading scorer Luis Suarez was hotly tipped to land the player of the year award, Liverpool strikers Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge were joined by Reds captain Steven Gerrard in the league select XI.

Everton right-back Seamus Coleman also made the line-up, which didn’t have any United presence this year.

The announcements at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel came hours after Liverpool lost 2-0 to Chelsea in the Premier League, to hand Manchester City the initiative in the race to lift the title, with a slip from Gerrard leading to the Blues’ first goal.

Chelsea’s Petr Cech, Gary Cahill and Eden Hazard made the PFA’s Premier League team, along with City’s Vincent Kompany and Yaya Toure, plus Southampton left-back Luke Shaw and midfielder club-mate Adam Lallana.

The complete PFA Premier League team of the year:

Cech (Chelsea), Shaw (Southampton), Kompany (Man City), Cahill (Chelsea), Coleman (Everton), Hazard (Chelsea), Yaya Toure (Man City), Gerrard (Liverpool), Lallana (Southampton), Suarez (Liverpool), Sturridge (Liverpool)

Deja un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *